Classic comedy is here to stay! Rock and Chips: my new love

20 Jul

Despite the fact that I’m only twenty-two, I think I was born in the wrong time period, because I am all about the old adages, the classics and even in some of my attitudes I can be pretty old-fashioned. When I was a child, my brother and I use to visit my dad at his flat on the weekends, and one of my fondest memories was being allowed to stay up late and watch television. Dad hated television and films aimed at kids, so instead we watched films like Ben Hur, Gone with the Wind and classic television series like Star Trek, Open all Hours, Last of the Summer Wine and my personal favourite, Only Fools and Horses.

One of my best buys in a long time! šŸ™‚

Watching the antics of Del boy and Rodney, who like me had a less than conventional childhood, never failed to put a smile on my face, I grew up with all the episodes and specials marking every Christmas, and by the time I had reached my teenage years I had seen every episode, and could recite them by heart. Although I started watching the series from childhood, it was only until I started growing up that I began to really understand the more subtle adult comedy, and recurring themes and story lines that featured in some of the episodes, and began to appreciate just how brilliant and talented the writers and cast members were. So imagine how thrilled I was when I found out that John Sullivan had released Rock and Chips, the prequel exploring the origins of the series that set the whole world on fire!

So although I shouldn’t have…I treated myself! Yes I ordered the series box set (unfortunatelyĀ its a very small series, only threeĀ episodes,Ā sinceĀ poor John Sullivan died before he was able to finish) and got a pretty good deal from Play.com only Ā£11 and free delivery, win!

So for those of you that don’t know, Rock and Chips is set in the early 1960’s in Peckham, and follows the lives of the Trotter family, in particular Joan Trotter, and how she met Freddie Robdal, the man who would eventually father her youngest son Rodney. It also explores the life of Del Boy and other recurring characters such as Denzil, Boycie, Trigger and Slater, for fans like me it answers a lot of questions, but even if you have no knowledge of the original series, its worth watching. Kellie Bright and Nicholas Lyndhurst are creative actors who bring their own style of comedy to the roles, and if you’re a fan of the Inbetweeners James Buckley, then you’ll enjoy his characterization of cheeky cockney chappie Del Boy.Ā It also provides an insight into the 1960’s culture, how people wereĀ stillĀ recovering from the war, the NHS and government reforms and how they effected the working class, feminism, as well as the mods and rockers youth movement. Entertainment, forbidden love and history! What more could you ask for?

Its actually quite a sweet love story šŸ™‚ That I’ve completely gone head over heels for!

So if your open-minded and want to see somethingĀ different, an Only Fools and Horses fan, or just fancy a goodĀ bit ofĀ British comedy, take my advice and watch Rock and Chips. You wont regret it!

Leave a Reply

