Five random bits of strangeness from 2011

31 Dec

So everyone is getting all reflective about the highs and lows of 2011, I have to say that I’m not in the best frame of mind to talk about 2011 and what its meant to me, don’t get me wrong I’ve had good things happen to me and have had some highlights, but there’s also been quite a lot of negativity in my life as well. So best not to talk about that right now, I’m going to give you my five strange random things that made me raise my eyebrow or question general societies sanity this 2011, but at the same time made this year another unforgettable one.

1. Giant yellow banana riding the tube.

On an English uni trip down to see the National Libraries new exhibit, me and the girls decided to do a bit of a speed tour around some London hotspots and caught the tube, tube hopping we encountered a guy dressed in a giant banana suit riding the tube as if he was completely normal. This sums up life for me really, amongst a bunch of faceless people, there’s always one giant yellow banana of a person that catches your attention and makes all others fade into the background.

2. Lapdancing and then a lamp through the car window

After moving into the flat me and Rachel thought we had got rid of crazy neighbours, no, we just exchanged one lunatic for a whole bunch of others. After an evening out I came back was drawing curtains and caught my neighbour opposite me down below doing some sort of strange interpretive lap dance for her partner. Maybe he insulted her technique because that same evening at 1am the whole of our flat block was woken up by their domestic in the middle of the street, he got in his car and tried to drive away, she took a lamp and put it through his windscreen. All of Hever Hall was standing on their balconies watching….who needs a TV and Eastenders with neighbours like that?

3. ‘My Abs hurt’

So I joined a gym at the beginning of my third year at university as I do like a good de-stress workout (I’m in a far more mellow mood if I’m physically exhausted) Megan joined as well and we started doing work out and spa sessions together. Our gym offered lots of classes as well as an ‘abs on the hour’ session designed to work those stomach muscles. After a bit of cajoling I decided to give it a go if Megan was and despite the red face, I didn’t feel too bad. Until the next day, where I spent the rest of the week walking round clutching my stomach in agony, and for the first time ever using the expression ‘my abs hurt.’ I didn’t even know they could!

4. Woohoo I’m not dead!

Over May time I was meant to be revising and whilst that was going on, the world was also meant to end. At the time specified by the prophet of doom I did mute my music, put down my revision, looked out a window and waited to see whether it was worth continuing copying out my English notes. There was pretty much silence and I thought to myself ‘oh dear…maybe it is the rapture.’ Then  a minute after the specified time had come and gone I heard a guy shout out from somewhere ‘Woohoo I’m not dead!’ You just can’t fight that enthusiasm for life.

5. I love Christie

I was walking around doing a bit of shopping, grabbing a coffee, and just doing the usual in my own little world. A little while into my shopping a guy walked past me with two giant pieces of white card covering his front and back which said ‘I love Christie’ whoever that Christie is, she’s a lucky girl! Shame about the very large curly moustache he had drawn on his face, I felt it detracted somewhat from the romance.

So these are the five random things that I thought made the year 2011 just that little bit more randomly amusing and strange. This is hardly a list of important occurrences, but sometimes I think it’s the strange little things that happen in life that help to make it just a bit more complete, lets face it without them each year would be that little bit less bright! So perhaps when you’re reflecting over your personal journey for 2011, you should also have a reflection on the random ridiculousness that your sure to have encountered, and how it added to the year.

2 Responses to “Five random bits of strangeness from 2011”

  1. Ronald Deignan January 7, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    I really enjoy reading on this website, it has got excellent articles. “One should die proudly when it is no longer possible to live proudly.” by Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche.

  2. StephBristow January 23, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    My layout is a mixture of my personalisation and a theme from Word Press called ‘Strange Little Town’ which I thought was fun and quirky! Glad you liked the blog and thank you for the comment! x x

Leave a Reply

