Last Single Girl Standing

1 Aug

Ok so practically all my girlfriends now have boyfriends, I think every girl will agree that its not always easy being the only member of your clique that is unattached and when it comes to social occasions it can feel like going into a battle without the armour. Clubbing, a meal out, the cinema its all a minefield if you stand alone in a group of happy couples, its never really bothered me before except on Valentines Day (a day designed for couples) but now on the lead up to yet another night out on the town as the ‘last single girl’ left standing I am beginning to feel that sense of nervous dread every singleton does when they go out with couples. Its not so much that hanging out with my friends and their partners is un-enjoyable, but the little things like having someone to dance with, get you a drink, walk you home.

When your the one in a bunch of two’s you feel that tiny nagging sense of awkwardness. So where am I going wrong? I’ve been asked out before and have been on dates but somehow the guy wasn’t right, there was no spark, we weren’t suited… a buffet of reasons made it only natural I stay single and then it comes round to some sort of event and I am going it alone again. I sit there and wonder, how do these girls do it? How have they found the right guy?

And suddenly I feel like a cast member from Sex and the City except with less exciting encounters, less designer clothes and less self realisations. Although I have to admit me and Carrie connect on one major point….

“Did you ever think that were the white knights and that we have to save ourselves?”

So even at the risk of sounding very clichéd I’ve decided to proclaim myself  ‘the last single girl standing’ (amongst my small girly group of friends anyway!) And be proud to go stag to all upcoming events, I’m going to take a leaf out of Carries book and be my own white knight, going it alone to a girlfriends birthday night out and not even attempting to look for ‘boyfriend opportunities.’

Watching Sex and the City is certainly a relationship education...

And because I know I’m not the ‘last single girl’ to all the other single girls out there just like me, observing perfect happy couples surrounding them and feeling a mixture of envy and nausea I can only say that we don’t stand alone, we stand together! (On the dance floor probably flinging our arms wide and having a cocktail per track) 🙂

4 Responses to “Last Single Girl Standing”

  1. Miss Serena Amber Heidi August 2, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Absolutely love this steph! So well written, and so true. Completely in the same position. We can both be Carrie’s :)xx

  2. StephBristow August 4, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    He he thank you Serena! I think…or at least I like to think that every girl has a bit of Carrie in her 🙂 x x x

  3. meganchapple August 26, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Steph I’ve tried to hook you up but you’re too picky! But I guess you can afford to be because your such a nice girl. Any guy would be lucky to have you x

  4. StephBristow August 26, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    aww thank you Megs 🙂 x x I guess I’m looking for my own version of your ‘Tom’ as it were lol and yes I remember you trying to hook me up lmao practically chucked me into the arms of that guy! aww I miss you! x x he he

Leave a Reply

